Are You an Electricity Hog?

Or more specifically, am I an electricity hog?

I read this article yesterday on Bargaineering. I complemented the author on her electricity usage. For her latest bill, she used an incredibly low 4.8 kWh/day. The article got me thinking: “How to I compare with others on electricity usage?”

Some National Averages

According to the United States Energy Information Administration (EIA) (FAQs link):

In 2012, the average annual electricity consumption for a U.S. residential utility customer was 10,837 kWh, an average of 903 kilowatthours (kWh) per month. Louisiana had the highest annual consumption at 15,046 kWh and Maine the lowest at 6,367 kWh.

The EIA also provides monthly electricity updates. In the latest issue, the average monthly residential bill is $107.28 (for 2012).

State-by-state, New Mexico had the lowest average monthly bill in 2012 at $74.62. The highest was Hawaii at $203.15, due to its high cost per kWh, which is roughly three times as much as the typical cost per kWh. The second highest was Alabama at $135.26.

How Does My Household Compare?

For the past 5 years, I have averaged 38.7 kWh/day. This has been fairly typical for the 5 years, with no specific trends upwards or downwards (on 12-month rolling averages). Of course, my usage goes up and down seasonally.

This 38.7 kWh/day average is 14,132 annually. This is 30% higher than the national average.

Although I will say this is lower than the Louisiana number of 15,046 (6% lower). Umm, let’s just say that this is relevant… somehow. 😉

Over the past 12 months, my highest electricity bill was $147.86, and the lowest was $74.43. The average was $107.89. This is almost the exact same as the national average of $107.28.

So, I guess I’m pretty average… 🙂

I’m Not a Statistician

I don’t want to misinterpret the EIA’s data and how they compare to my household’s. But, it appears to be that I am particularly average when it comes to average monthly bills. And given my location, I am also average on my kWh usage.

I suppose that I don’t feel too bad about being an electricity hog, since I seemingly represent a fairly typical residential consumer.

How about you? Are you a hog?

Leave a Reply

